Recipe: S’more Ice Cream

There are certain recipes that are hard to imagine being flammable and an ice cream recipe would be one of those recipes. So much to my surprise and likely not my mother’s, this s’more ice cream recipe almost called for a fire extinguisher.

But before we get to what I learned about toasting marshmallows, this recipe uses Jeni’s cream cheese base with chocolate bits, marshmallows and graham cracker crumbs. I was looking for a creamy s’more in a cup (I’m also likely one of the few people who thinks s’mores are too messy).

I wanted that toasty roasty marshmallow taste in the ice cream. So my first thought was to just spread a layer of mini marshmallows on tin foiled cover pan and toast them in my toaster oven. Well, it didn’t turn out well.

WP_20160603_19_47_06_Pro

My husband then suggested to skewer the marshmallows and with the toaster door open, toast them over the heating element.

WP_20160603_19_58_21_Pro

I took my eyes off the toaster oven for a few seconds and when I turned back around, there was a small sugar fire on the bottom of the oven. We quickly scrambled to find the fire extinguisher but we were able to unplug and watch it burn to a black gooey mess.

WP_20160603_20_05_04_Pro
Needless to say,  I was not able to add in roasted marshmallows. Despite this, the recipe turned out pretty good though the taste-testers said it tasted a bit coffeeish. If I were to make this again, I would add more graham crackers and try broiling the marshmallows.

WP_20160612_12_33_57_Pro

S’more Ice Cream

  • 1 1⁄2 cups whole milk
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 1 1⁄2 cups heavy cream
  • 1⁄3 cup sugar
  • 2  tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup  mini marshmallows
  • 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vodka
  1. Mix about 2 tablespoons of the milk with the cornstarch in a small bowl to make a smooth slurry. Whisk the cream cheese in a medium bowl until smooth.
  2. Combine the remaining milk, cream, sugar and corn syrup in a 4-quart saucepan, bring to a rolling boil over medium-high heat, and boil for 4 minutes.
  3. Remove from the heat and gradually whisk in the slurry. Bring the mixture back to a boil until thicken and add vanilla. The mixture should have a slight film on the back of a spoon. Remove from heat.
  4. Gradually whisk the hot milk mixture in to the cream cheese until smooth.Add the marshmallows until mostly melted.
  5. Store and chill in an airtight container for at least 3 hours.
  6. Pour the ice cream mixture into the frozen canister of electric ice cream freezer and run according to directions of ice cream maker and add in vodka.
  7. Melt the chocolate (I microwaved for about 20 seconds) and add into mixture while churning. Also mix in the graham crackers in the same manner.
  8. Freeze in the coldest part of your freezer until firm, at least 4 hours in airtight container.

3 thoughts on “Recipe: S’more Ice Cream

  1. Sounds delicious! I wonder if the old-fashioned way of roasting the marshmallows is really the only way to go. Points for ingenuity on the toaster oven idea, however!

    Maybe try the skewers and a long, grill pilot-light-style lighter. Roast ’em by hand over foil until you have little fireballs, then blow it all out.

    Like

  2. I use a blowtorch on the marshmallows. Also try the keebler chocolate covered graham crackers – they stay crunchy in the final product.

    Like

Leave a comment